D140 Mathematicians Add Up Awards at South Cook Math Bowl May 20, 2019

math bowl participants

Kirby School District 140 brought home nine awards from the annual South Cook Math Bowl held at Prairie State College on May 9th and May 10th. Quite a feat when you consider more than 200 contestants from almost 30 school districts competed each day in this awesome event.

The South Cook Math Bowl is an annual competition which has the best math students from elementary and middle schools in the south and southwest suburbs vying against one another in both individual and team events. In District 140, the three students with the highest math test scores per grade were selected to participate in the contest, with two competing and one serving as an alternate. D140 math coaches believe that the success of their math team is a direct result of the dedication, time, and effort the students and their teachers put forth preparing for the competition.

"District 140 did phenomenally well in both the team and individual events,” stated teacher Kate Duchak.  “We could not be more proud of our Kirby School District 140 students.”

math bowl participants

Individual winners were Allen Mech, 5th place for first grade; Charlotte Gallivan, 2nd place for third grade; Thomas Crehan, 2nd  place for fourth grade; Jake Monahan, 2nd place for sixth grade;  Alexander Maliwat, 3rd place for sixth grade; Raphael Talusan, 4th place for seventh grade;  Patrick Keating,  6th place for eighth grade.

Team Awards went to Fifth/Sixth Grade Team – 3rd place: James Abraham, Kenneth Peters, Lex Maliwat, Jake Monahan; Seven/Eighth Grade Team – 4th place: Raphael Talusan, Sean Kammerzell, Patrick Keating, Vikram Karra.
District 140’s 2019 MVP Awards went to Thomas Crehan and Patrick Keating.

Additional contestants competing at this year’s event were Emmett Walsh for first grade, Colin Boyle and Megan Dziekan for second grade, Atala Shalash for third grade, and Erik Peterson for fourth grade. Alternates were Liam Ziervagel, James Even, David Jennings, Dominick Lokes, Hunter Boyle, Bella Rogers, Liam Johnson, and Emily Bobber. The D140 Math Bowl teams were coached by Karen Cronk, Kate Duchak, Sue Murphy, Renee O'Keeffe, and Nicole Ware.