Skip to Main Content

Adding Up Success: D140 Mathletes Score Big at 2024 South Cook Math Bowl

Math Bowl participants pose with medals and awards

Kirby School District 140 brought home sixteen awards from the annual South Cook Math Bowl, held at Prairie State College on May 2 and 3. This is quite a remarkable achievement, considering more than 225 contestants from nineteen school districts competed for individual and team awards each day.

The South Cook Math Bowl is an annual event that brings the best math students from elementary and middle schools in the south and southwest suburbs to compete against one another in individual and team events. In KSD 140, the three students with the highest math test scores per grade were selected to participate in the contest, with two competing and one serving as an alternate. D140 math coaches believe that the success of their math team is a direct result of the dedication, time, and effort the students and their teachers put forth in preparing for the competition.

Individual winners

  • Angela Q. - 6th place, first grade
  • Victoria C. - 3rd place, second grade
  • Dylan T. - 3rd place, third grade
  • Chris B. - 4th place, fourth grade
  • Jack E. - MVP, fourth grade
  • Zach M. - 1st place, fifth grade
  • Tommy F. - 3rd place, fifth grade
  • Emmett W. - 1st place, sixth grade
  • Patryk H. - 4th place, seventh grade
  • Charlotte G. - 5th place and MVP, eighth grade 
  • Atala S. - 1st place, eighth grade

Team awards:

  • First/Second-grade team – 2nd place: Angela Q., Jawad D., Mason T., and Victoria C. 
  • Third/Fourth-grade team - 5th place: Dylan T., Chris B., Jack E., Ben K.
  • Fifth/Sixth-grade team - 2nd place: Zach M., Tommy F., Emmett W., and Allen M. 
  • Seventh/Eighth-grade team - 4th place: Patryk H., William B., Charlotte G., and Atala S.

D140’s 2024 MVP Awards went to Jack E. and Charlotte G. Additional contestants competing at this year’s event were Jawad D., Mason T., Ben K., Allen M., and William B.

Nicole Collins, Kate Robinson, Kelly Rockaitis, Renee O’Keeffe, and Lacie Lucca coached the 2024 D140 Math Bowl teams. 

Congratulations to all!

Math Bowl particpants pose with medals and awards

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.