Skip to Main Content

Student and Staff Recognition

Throughout the school year, the Kirby School District 140 Board of Education honors students and staff for outstanding achievements and contributions to the District 140 community. Congratulations to all!

February 2023

District 140 Spelling Bee champions were recognized at the February Board of Education meeting. These fourteen outstanding spellers won their school competitions and advanced to compete in the District Spelling Bee in early February.

Congratulations to Zackary S. and Jack F. from Bannes Elementary; Erin T. and Noah A. from Fernway Park Elementary; Sama D. and Carson B. from Keller Elementary; Jiro C. and Allen M. from McAuliffe Elementary; Chloe B. and Sereen A. from Millennium Elementary; Jasmine C. and Gabriella G. from Grissom Middle School; Isabella P. and Ava G. from Prairie View Middle School.

The Board also recognized D140's Business Department for winning the Meritorious Budget Award (MBA) for the eighteenth consecutive year. The entire team - Michael Andreshak, Jenna Khalil, Laura Laird, and Tiffany Mullarkey - was honored for their contributions.

January 2023

Members of the Prairie View Girls’ Basketball team were recognized at the January Board of Education meeting for their SWIC Tournament Championship win. Coached by Mr. Jeff Mahy, the Prairie View Eagles roster includes Mya B., Alanis E., Mia E., Aaliyah F., Mackenzie G., Leighton G., Veeksha K., Teagan L., Emma L., Julianna L., Lily S., and Gianna S.

The Board also recognized McAuliffe Elementary teacher Janelle Kuhn as one of 127 teachers across the state of Illinois to certify and one of the 336 teachers to recertify as a National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT) in 2022.

November 2022

The Board of Education recognized five District 140 students for their winning submissions to the Tinley Park Fire Prevention Poster Contest. This year's theme was “Fire Won’t Wait. Plan Your Escape.”

Congratulations to Maddy S. (McAuliffe), Vinny M. (Bannes), Gavin H. (McAuliffe), Tegan F-M. (McAuliffe), and Aaron M. (McAuliffe)!

October 2022

Members of the Prairie View Boys’ Softball team were recognized at the October Board of Education meeting for their SWIC Tournament Championship win. Coached by Mr. David Zielezinski, the Prairie View Eagles roster includes Justin B., Ryan D., Parker G., Danny H., Tyler K., Adam L., Pat M., Austin N., Lucca S., Alexander S., Sam T., Logan V., Casey W., and Nolan W.

The Board also recognized Millennium Paraeducator Carla Zidek for her outstanding contributions to the D140 community.

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.